Things to do in New York in February 2020

New York Latin Culture Magazine is publishing from Barranquilla, Colombia in February, 2020. “En Barranquilla me quedo” Joe Arroyo


WEEK 5 ~ January 27 – February 2, 2020

January 2020 Calendar


Saturday, February 1


Sunday, February 2

The La Vega Carnival in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic opens today and runs Sundays through February 23.


WEEK 6 ~ February 3-9, 2020


Monday, February 3

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Tuesday, February 4

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Wednesday, February 5

(Anticipated) The Film Comment Selects film festival is at Film Society of Lincoln Center through Sunday. From $10

Forro in the Dark plays Brazilian forro at Nublu Classic in Manhattan’s East Village with sets at 9 & 11pm.


Thursday, February 6


Friday, February 7

(Anticipated) NYC Restaurant Week Winter 2020 ends today.


Saturday, February 8


Sunday, February 9

The La Vega Carnival in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic opens today and runs Sundays through February 23.

(Anticipated) The Grammy Awards ceremony is tonight.


WEEK 7 ~ February 10-16, 2020


Monday, February 10

(Anticipated) The Westminster Dog Show is at Piers 92/94 and Madison Square Garden.

(Anticipated) The Fashion Designers of Latin American fashion shows are through Wednesday).

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Tuesday, February 11

Celebrate the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes in Lourdes, France.

(Anticipated) The Westminster Dog Show is at Piers 92/94 and Madison Square Garden.

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Wednesday, February 12

Abraham Lincoln, the American president who ended slavery and held our country together, was born in Hodgenville, Kentucky on February 12, 1809.

Forro in the Dark plays Brazilian forro at Nublu Classic in Manhattan’s East Village with sets at 9 & 11pm.


Thursday, February 13


Friday, February 14 ~ Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine’s Day!

It’s President’s Day Weekend!


Saturday, February 15

Venice Carnival runs through February 25.


Sunday, February 16

The La Vega Carnival in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic opens today and runs Sundays through February 23.


WEEK 8 ~ February 17-23, 2020


Monday, February 17 ~ President’s Day

It’s the President’s Day U.S. holiday.

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Tuesday, February 18

It’s the President’s Day Congressional district work period through Friday.

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Wednesday, February 19

It’s the President’s Day Congressional district work period through Friday.

Carnaval de Ponce in Ponce, Puerto Rico runs through February 25.

Forro in the Dark plays Brazilian forro at Nublu Classic in Manhattan’s East Village with sets at 9 & 11pm.


Thursday, February 20

It’s the President’s Day Congressional district work period through Friday.

(Anticipated) MoMA’s Doc Fortnight documentary film festival runs through Thursday, February 27.

(Anticipated) The Premio Lo Nuestro awards are live on Univision from Miami, Florida from 8-10pm.


Friday, February 21

It’s the President’s Day Congressional district work period through Friday.

Rio de Janeiro Carnival runs through February 26.

(Anticipated) The Neighboring Scenes New Latin American Cinema film festival at Film Society of Lincoln Center is through Tuesday, February 25, 2019.

(Anticipated) The New York International Children’s Film Festival is weekends through March 15.


Saturday, February 22

American founding father Jorge Washington was born in Popes Creek, Virginia on February 22, 1732.

Spanish–Mexican filmmaker Luis Buñuel was born in Calanda, Teruel, Spain on February 22, 1900.

The main events of Barranquilla Carnival run through Fat Tuesday, February 25.

It’s National Margarita Day!

(Anticipated) National Puerto Rican Day Parade scholarship applications are due today.


Sunday, February 23

The La Vega Carnival in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic ends with its big party today.

(Anticipated) Off-Broadway Week ends today.

(Anticipated) The Oscars, the 92nd Academy Awards are broadcast live on ABC from the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California from 5-8pm ET.


WEEK 9 ~ February 24 – March 1, 2020


Monday, February 24

Trinidad Carnival runs through Tuesday.

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Tuesday, February 25

Celebrate Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday, Shrove Tuesday), the end of Carnival season.

Italian-American hot jazz specialists Vince Giordano & the Nighthawks play Iguana in Times Square, Manhattan at 8 & 11pm. $20


Wednesday, February 26

(Anticipated) The ADAA Art Show opens with a Gala Preview at the Park Avenue Armory in Manhattan’s Upper East Side. The fair runs through Sunday, March 1.

Forro in the Dark plays Brazilian forro at Nublu Classic in Manhattan’s East Village with sets at 9 & 11pm.


Thursday, February 27

Celebrate Dominican Independence Day (from Haiti) on February 27, 1844.


Friday, February 28


Saturday, February 29 (Leap Year)


March 2020 Calendar


~

Things to do in NYC

TodayTomorrow | This Week | This Weekend | Next Week | Next Weekend | Monthly