St. Patrick’s Cathedral

St. Patrick’s Cathedral in Midtown Manhattan is the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of New York.

Rather ironically, it is New York City’s most iconic church. It’s ironic because the Dutch and English who founded and built up New York are Protestant. Catholicism came with Irish immigration after the Great Famine of 1845.


Daily Masses

The altar at NYC's St. Patrick's Cathedral. Courtesy of Another Believer.

The altar at NYC’s St. Patrick’s Cathedral. Courtesy of Another Believer.


There are seven daily masses. Spanish Mass is Sundays at 4pm.

Sunday’s regular Mass schedule is 7am, 8am, 9am, 10:15am, 12pm, 1pm, 4pm (Spanish Mass), and 5:30pm.


August (2019)

Assumption of Mary

Wednesday, August 15, 2018


September (2018)

Our Lady Caridad del Cobre Mass (Cuban)
Sunday, September 9, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass

Our Lady of Coromoto Mass (Venezuelan)
Sunday, September 16, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass

San Lorenzo Ruiz Mass (Filipino)
Sunday, September 23, 2018 at 2 pm

Our Lady of Cisne Mass (Ecuadorian)
Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass


October (2018)

Our Lady of Aparecida Mass (Brazilian)
Saturday, October 6, 2018 at 7 pm

Misa de la Hispanidad Mass (Spanish)
Sunday, October 7, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass

El Señor de los Milagros Mass (Peruvian)
Sunday, October 21, 2018 at 2 pm
Spanish Mass

El Divino Niño Mass (Colombian)
Sunday, October 21, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass


November (2018)

Puerto Rican Mass

Our Lady of Providence
Sunday, November 18, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass


December (2018)

Filipino Mass

Simbang Gabi Sa Katedral Mass
Saturday, December 1, 2018 at 2 pm

Nicaraguan Mass

La Purisima
Sunday, December 2, 2018 at 4 pm
Spanish Mass

Mexican Mass

La Mañanitas a la Virgen de Guadalupe
Tuesday, December 11, 2018 from 7 – 10 pm
Spanish Mass

Christmas Concert

City Singing at Christmas Concert
Thursday, December 20, 2018 from 7 – 9 pm
Tickets required

Christmas Eve

Children’s Mass
Monday, December 24, 2018 at 5:30 pm

Christmas Midnight Mass (Christ – mass)

Timothy Cardinal Dolan will celebrate Midnight Mass. The popular Mass is ticketed. Enter the ticket lottery.

Christmas Day

Spanish Mass
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 at 4 pm


January at St. Patrick’s Cathedral (2019)

Enter the ticket lottery for the main Easter Mass on Easter Sunday at 10:15 am. (As of January 2, 2019, the online lottery has not been set up. Keep checking.)

Three Kings Day (Epiphany)

Sunday, January 6, 2019 ~ There is no special Epiphany Mass, but the regular Sunday, Spanish Mass is at 4pm.


March 2019 at St. Patrick’s Cathedral

Ash Wednesday

Wednesday, March 6
Ashes are available from 7am – 8pm.

Stations of the Cross

This spiritual pilgrimage commemorates the Via Dolorosa (Way of Pain), the path walked by Christ in his last days. It is a popular Lenten tradition.

Friday, March 8 at 6pm

Wednesday, March 13 at 6pm
Friday, March 15 at 6pm

Wednesday, March 20 at 6pm
Friday, March 22 at 6pm

Wednesday, March 27 at 6pm
Friday, March 29 at 6pm

St. Patrick’s Day Mass

St Patrick’s Day is Sunday, March 17, but the St. Patrick’s Day Parade is on Saturday this year so the St. Patrick’s Day Mass is on Saturday, March 16 at 8:30am.

This is a ticketed Mass. There are unticketed Masses at 8am, 12pm & 5:30pm.


April 2019 at St. Patrick’s Cathedral

Devotion to the Miraculous Medal

Mondays, Apr 1, 8, 15, 22 and 29, 2019 ~ A Marian devotion based on a Marian apparition in Paris, France from July 18 and November 27, 1830. At 6pm. FREE

Stations of the Cross

Wednesdays April 3, 10 and 17, 2019
Fridays April 5, 12, and 19, 2019

This popular Lenten tradition commemorates the Via Dolorosa (Way of Pain), the path walked by Christ in his last days.

Holy Week

April 14-20, 2019, Sunday-Saturday ~ Holy Week is the week leading up to Easter. It celebrates the Passion of Christ, or his last days.

Palm Sunday

April 14, 2019, Sunday ~ The Sunday before Easter commemorates the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem.

Chrism Mass

Tuesday, April 16, 2019 ~ This celebration of the priesthood is one of the year’s biggest gatherings of clergy and faithful.

Chrism (myrrh) is a holy oil used for Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Orders. In this Mass, holy oils are given to priests who take them back to their parishes for use throughout the year. It’s a reenactment of an early Christian rite.

Holy Thursday

Thursday, April 18, 2019 ~ Commemorates the washing of the feet and the Last Supper of Jesus Christ with the Apostles.

In Asian culture, the feet are considered the lowest part of the body, so washing another’s feet is a powerful sign of submission. There is a paradox in that. When you submit freely to another, your submission binds you together. This happens in couples. Each partner submits to the other and thereby creates a powerful union.

Travelers know that on the road you have to take good care of your feet. Perhaps this is symbolic of Christ’s journey.

There is a Mass of the Lord’s Supper at 5:30pm.

Good Friday

Friday, April 19, 2019 ~ Commemorates the Crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

Tenebrae, a religious service that symbolizes the coming darkness by putting out candles followed by a loud noise in the dark. At 9am

There are religious ceremonies throughout the day.

Holy Saturday

Saturday, April 20, 2019 ~ An Easter Vigil commemorates the day the body of Jesus Christ lay in the tomb. At 8pm

Easter Sunday

Sunday, April 21, 2019 ~ Celebrates the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

There are Masses all day at

  • 7 am
  • 8 am
  • 8:45 am
  • 10:15 am (Solemn Mass requires tickets)
  • 12 noon
  • 1 pm
  • 4 pm (in Spanish)
  • 5:30 pm

You can request Easter Mass tickets online from January 1 through mid-March at saintpatrickscathedral.org.

FDNY Holy Name Society

Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 10:15am ~ Mass for the Catholic society of the New York City Fire Department.


May 2019 at St. Patrick’s Cathedral

Mother’s Day

Sunday, May 12, 2019 ~ There is an organ recital from 3:15-3:45pm and a Spanish Mass at 4pm.

Our Lady of Lujan (Argentine)

Sunday, May 19, 2019 ~ There is a Spanish mass for Our Lady of Lujan, the patroness of Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay at 4 pm.

Our Lady of Rocio (Ecuadorian)

Sunday, May 26, 2019 ~ There is an organ recital from 3:15 to 3:45pm and a Spanish Mass at 4pm.

Ascension of the Lord

Thursday, May 30, 2019


June (2019)

National Puerto Rican Day Parade Mass

The National Puerto Rican Day Parade Mass (in Spanish) is on Sunday, June 2, 2018 at 4 pm.

Pentecost Vigil

Saturday, June 8, 2019 at 7pm

Pentecost

Sunday, June 9, 2019

Father’s Day & Trinity Sunday

Sunday, June 16, 2019 ~ Trinity Sunday celebrates the Christine idea of the holy Trinity, the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

Corpus Christi Procession

Saturday, June 22, 2019 at 6:30pm

Body and Blood of Christ

Sunday, June 23, 2019

White Mass

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 10am ~ The White Mass is for healthcare professionals.

Saint Josemaría Escrivá Mass

Wednesday, June 26, 2019 at 7pm ~ This mass is for Saint Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer y Albás, the Spanish founder of the lay Catholic organization Opus Dei. We teach that even ordinary life is sacred.


July (2019)

Saint Martin de Porres Mass (Peru)

Sunday, July 28, 2019 at 4pm ~ Saint Martin de Porres Mass (Peru).  Afro-Peruvian Saint Martin de Porres (1579-1639) is the patron saint of mixed-race people.

Andrés Mojica and Ana María Hernández of San Juan, Puerto Rico give an organ and flute recital from 3:15 – 3:45pm. FREE


Visit St. Patrick’s Cathedral

The interior of NYC's St. Patrick's Cathedral. Courtesy of Jean-Christophe Benoist.

The interior of NYC’s St. Patrick’s Cathedral. Courtesy of Jean-Christophe Benoist.

Fifth Avenue between 50th & 51st St
Midtown East, Manhattan

Subway

  • (E) or (M) to Fifth Ave – 53rd St
  • (E) to 47th – 50th St – Rockefeller Center
  • (B) (D) (F) (M) to 47th – 50th St – Rockefeller Center
  • (6) to 51st St

 


Subscribe  | AdvertiseContact us