‘La Celestina’ Spanish theatre at Repertorio Español

‘La Celestina’ or ‘La Comedia de Calisto y Melibea’ (1499) by Fernando de Rojas is one of the great works of Spanish literature.

It was written during the reign of Ferdinand and Isabella not long after the pivotal year 1492 which brought the discovery of the Americas, the conquest of Granada (Islamic Spain) and the expulsion of the Jews.

This is the beginning of the Spanish colonial period and the Spanish Golden Age in literature and theatre. Theatre was enjoyed by all levels of Spanish society from the royal court to laborers.

The novel is written entirely in dialogue, so it is often staged and filmed.

For context, this is one hundred years before that other pilar of Spanish literature ‘Don Quixote.’


‘La Celestina’ at Repertorio Español 2019

Cuban New York playwright Leyma López (‘Valor agravio y mujer’) adapts ‘La Celestina’ to the stage for Repertorio Español in 2019.

‘La Celestina’ stars Zulema Clares as la Celestina, Gonzalo Trigueros as Calisto and Carmen Borla as Melibea.

This production marks the Repertorio Español debut of actors Imanol Fuentes, Sandra Gumuzzio and Mario Peguero.

‘La Celestina’ previews begin Friday, February 8, 2019 for a February 12 opening night.


‘La Celestina’ Performances

February 2019

February 12, Tue at 7pm ~ Opening Night
February 13, Wed at 11am. $30
February 15, Fri at 8pm. $17-72

February 22, Fri at 8pm. $17-72

March 2019

March 1, Fri at 8pm. $17-72

March 31, Sun at 3pm. $17-72

April 2019

April 12, Fri at 8pm

May 2019

May 10, Fri at 8pm

May 17, Fri at 8pm ~ End of season


‘La Celestina’ Tickets

'La Celestina.' Courtesy Michael Palma / Repertorio Español.

‘La Celestina.’ Courtesy Michael Palma / Repertorio Español.

Tickets are available at the door and online at repertorio.nyc

From $17 – $72


Repertorio Español

138 East 27th St, New York, NY
(near Lexington Ave)
Kips Bay, Manhattan

More info


Subscribe  | AdvertiseContact us