295 Views |  1

‘Norma’ is Bellini’s bel canto Italian opera masterpiece

Norma is a famous bel canto Italian opera by Vincenzo Bellini. It premiered at La Scala in Milan in 1831.

Vincenzo Bellini (1801 – 1835) is an Italian opera composer famous for I Capuleti, La sonnambula, Norma, and I puritani. Bellini is known for his melodies.


Norma Performances

 

The Metropolitan Opera opens its 2017-18 Season with a new Sir David McVicar production of Bellini’s masterpiece. September 25 – December 16, 2017

September 2017

Sondra Radvanovsky (American) is Norma.
Joyce DiDonato (American) is Adalgisa.
Joseph Calleja (Maltese) is Pollione.
Carlo Rizzi (Milan, Italy) conducts.

Monday, September 25 at 6:30pm
(2017-2018 Season opening night)

Thursday, September 28 at 8pm

October 2017

Tuesday, October 3 at 7:30 pm
Saturday, October 7 at 1 pm

Wednesday, October 11 at 7:30 pm

Monday, October 16 at 7:30 pm. Marina Rebeka sings Norma.
Friday, October 20 at 8 pm. Marina Rebeka sings Norma.

December 2017

Angela Meade (American) sings Norma.
Jamie Barton (American) sings Adalgisa.
Joseph Colaneri (American) conducts.

Friday, December 1 at 8 pm

Tuesday, December 5 at 7:30 pm
Friday, December 8 at 8 pm

Monday, December 11 at 7:30 pm
Saturday, December 16 at 1 pm


Norma Tickets

Metropolitan Opera ticket prices vary with demand. Prices go up as an opera nears the end of its run. Buy tickets early in the season to get the best prices. Tickets go on sale to:
  • Patrons and Subscribers on June 15, 2017
  • Guild members (Supporting and above) on June 18, 2017
  • General public, Sunday, June 25, 2017

Metropolitan Opera House box office

Monday – Saturday, 10 am -6 pm Sunday, 12 noon – 6 pm

By Phone

(212) 362-6000 Monday – Saturday, 10 am – 8 pm Sunday, Noon – 6 pm

Online

www.metopera.org

Rush Tickets

$25 Rush tickets can be purchased at www.metopera.org the day of the show. You can buy two tickets to one performance every seven days. Rush tickets go on sale Monday – Friday at 12 noon Matinees (four hours before curtain) Saturday evenings at 2 pm
 
Please follow and like us:
onpost_follow