818 Views |  1

SummerStage 2017 presents free concerts of great Latin artists in NYC parks


SummerStage is an annual summer festival of free concerts and a few benefits at parks in all of New York City’s boroughs.

Latin Concerts at SummerStage 2017

June SummerStage

Celebrate the French tradition Fête de la Musique with Wax Tailor, Her, Ayo, and Ali.Ni at Central Park SummerStage, Wednesday, June 21 from 5-10pm. Free

Dig Portuguese sounds from Fado to Contemporary with The Gift, Dead Combo, Sofia Ribeiro at Central Park SummerStage, Saturday, June 24 from 5-10pm. Free

July SummerStage

Celebrate French Hot Jazz with Vince Giordano & The Nighthawks, Avalon Jazz Band, and Aurora Nealand as part of the New York Hot Jazz Festival, July 1 at Central Park SummerStage, Saturday, July 1 from 5-10pm. Free

Colombian Cumbia Queen Totó La Momposina and Mariachi Flor de Toloache, NYC’s first all-female Mariachi band, play Central Park SummerStage, Saturday, July 8 from 6-10pm. Free

Chilean rocker Mon Laferte, Nuyorican Hip-Hop artist Destiny Frasqueri, and Puerto Rican electronic band ÌFÉ play Central Park SummerStage, Wednesday, July 12 from 5-10pm. Free

Latin Freestylers Judy Torres and Cynthia play Queensbridge Park in Queens, Thursday, July 13 from 6-9pm. Free

Argentine reggae-rockers Los Pericos, LA’s Chicano Batman, and Venezuelans La Vida Bohéme play Central Park SummerStage for the LAMC (Latin Alternative Music Conference), Saturday, July 15 from 2-7pm. Free

Nuyorican Freestyler Lisette Melendez plays Corporal Thompson Park in Staten Island, Thursday, July 20 from 6-9pm. Free

Boogaloo legend Joe Bataan plays Corporal Thompson Park in Staten Island, Friday, July 21 from 6-9pm. Free

The Public Theater’s Mobile Unit: Star-Crossed (Los Desdichados) plays Latin music and reads from Chilean Nobel Prize-winning poet Pablo Neruda’s Spanish translation of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, at St. Mary’s Park in The Bronx, Wednesday, July 26 from 7-9pm. Free

Bronx-based dancers Nelida Tirado, Bombazo Dance Company, Richard Rivera/PHYSUAL, and Mando/3VXM kick it up with Modern, Folk, Flamenco, and House dance at St. Mary’s Park in the Bronx, Thursday, July 27 from 7-9pm. Free

Puerto Rican Salsa legend La India plays St. Mary’s Park in the Bronx, Friday, July 28 from 6-9pm. Free

Puerto Rican-American Salsa singer Frankie Negrón plays St. Mary’s Park in the Bronx, Saturday, July 29 from 4-9pm. Free

Nuyorican freestyle legend Lisa Lisa and Jamaican reggae and dancehall artist Marlon B play St. Mary’s Park in The Bronx, Sunday, July 30 from 5-7pm. Free

August SummerStage

The cast of A Bronx Tale (Italian story with a Colombian choreographer) play Crotona Park in The Bronx, Thursday, August 3 from 7-9pm. Free

Brazilian Samba legend Elza Soares, YouTube success Liniker e os Caramelows, and DJ Teleseen play Central Park SummerStage as part of Brasil Summerfest, Saturday, August 5 from 6-10pm, Free

Cuban contemporary dance company Malpaso Dance Company, Afro-Cuban Jazz singer Daymé Arocena, and NYC’s own Nickodemus play Central Park SummerStage, Wednesday, August 9 from 7-10pm. Free

The Nuyorican Poets Cafe presents spoken worders Stacyann Chin, Ntozake Shange, and Sarah Kay at East River Park in the Lower East Side, Wednesday, August 9 from 7-9pm. Free

Legendary Puerto Rican Bolero singer Andy Montañez, “El Godfather de la Salsa” plays East River Park, Friday, August 11 from 6-9pm. Free

The Funkbox in the Park tribute to party promoter Evelyn Santos includes DJs Tony Touch, Danny Krivit, Jellybean Benitez, and D-Train at East River Park, Sunday, August 13 from 4-7pm. Free

Lincoln Center at the Movies screens an Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater documentary Central Park SummerStage, Wednesday, August 16 from 7-10pm. Free

Tel-Aviv born clarinetist and Brazilian Choro master Anat Cohen leads her Tentet for the Charlie Parker Jazz Festival at Marcus Garvey Park, Friday, August 25 from 7-9pm. Free

For tickets or more information, visit www.cityparksfoundation.org/summerstage