Guatemalan Independence Day

Guatemalan Independence Day is September 15.

Guatemala was the central homeland of Mayan culture. Spaniards colonized the region in the 1520s. In 1609, the region became part of the Spanish Captaincy General of Guatemala. It controlled Central America from Guatemala City.

Guatemalan Independence Day

It commemorates the day on September 15, 1821 when a regional congress in Guatemala City signed “The Act of Independence of Central America.”

Guatemala was fortunate in that it didn’t have to fight a war to become independent.

Federal Republic of Central America

The original Federal Republic of Central America of 1823 was based on the territory of the Captaincy General of Guatemala of New Spain which included what are now Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and the Mexican state of Chiapas.

The Republic of Guatemala

The modern state of Guatemala was formed in 1847.

Subscribe  | AdvertiseContact us