‘La Canción’ Puerto Rican Hip-Hop Musical at Repertorio

La Canción is Cándido Tirado’s story about a Bronx kid who wakes up with a song in his head. Original music by reggaeton legend VICO C.


La Canción

La Canción is the fun and refreshing story of Rafa, a young man from The Bronx with a passion for music. Who from The Bronx doesn’t have a passion for music? It’s a big part of who we are.

One night, Rafa dreams of a song and wakes up with the lyrics stuck  his head. Captivated, Rafa wants to use the song in an upcoming competition, but he needs to know who wrote it. Rafa searches for the author and discovers something about the music and even more about himself.

What a beautiful way to tell the story of who we are through Salsa, Merengue, Bachata, and Hip-Hop.

These are Latin genres, but in a way they are universal. Latin kids in The Bronx brought their parents’ Palladium Ballroom dance moves into Break Dancing and Hip-Hop. More recently the Australian Shuffle Dance is really Salsa moves done by today’s kids to electronic music.

Discovering our Latin roots is the discovery of our common humanity.

Performed in Spanish with English subtitles.


La Canción Creative Team

La Canción is written by Cándido Tirado, directed by Edward Torres, with original music by Latin Grammy-winning reggaeton rapper VICO C (Luis Armando Lozado Cruz).


La Canción Performances

Performances at Repertorio Español unless otherwise noted.

February 2019

Friday, February 1, 2019 at 11am. $30

Friday, February 15, 2019 at 11am. $30

Wednesday, February 27, 2019 at 11am. $30

March 2019

Wednesday, March 6, 2019 at 11am. $30

Sunday, March 24, 2019 at 3pm. From $17

Monday, March 25 at 11am. $30
Tuesday, March 26 at 11am. $30
Wednesday, March 27 at 11am. $30

April 2019

Tuesday, April 2 at 11am. $30

Friday, April 12 at 11am. $30

Sunday, April 28 at 11am. $30

Tuesday, April 30 at 11am. $30

May 2019

Wednesday, May 1 at 11am $30
Friday, May 3 at 11am $30

June 2019

Saturday, June 8 at 8pm. From $17


La Canción Tickets

Get tickets at repertorio.nyc


~
Things to do in NYC

This Week  | Next Week | Monthly

Subscribe  | AdvertiseContact us