120 Views |  1

American Ballet Theatre Gala, Whipped Cream, & Giselle

American Ballet Theatre’s Spring 2017 Season at the Metropolitan Opera House is Monday-Saturday, May 15 through July 8 (dark July 4).

American Ballet Theatre Spring 2017

ABT Gala

The ABT Gala is Monday, May 22 at 6:30pm.

Whipped Cream

ABT presents the premiere of Alexei Ratmansky’s Whipped Cream to music by Richard Strauss, Tuesday-Wednesday, May 23-24.

The original casting of Argentine Principal Herman Cornejo on Tuesday, May 23 has been changed. He will dance The Boy on June 27, 29, and July 1.

Brazilian Principal Marcelo Gomes will dance The Boy on June 28 and 30.

Giselle

"Giselle" American Ballet Theatre Spring 2017

“Giselle” courtesy of American Ballet Theatre


ABT presents Giselle Thursday-Wednesday May 25-31.
Brazilian Principal Marcelo Gomes dances Albrecht on Tuesday, May 30 at 7:30pm.
Argentine Principal Herman Cornejo dances Albrecht on Wednesday, May 31 at 7:30pm.

Don Quixote

"Don Quixote" courtesy of American Ballet Theatre

“Don Quixote” courtesy of American Ballet Theatre

The season opened with Don Quixote Tuesday-Saturday, May 15-20. The ballet is based on the legendary Spanish novel by Miguel de Cervantes. Italian-American multiple Tony Award winner Santo Loquasto designed the set and costumes.

Argentine Soloist Luciana Paris is Mercedes on Tuesday, May 16 at 7:30pm.
French Principal Alexandre Hammoudi is Espada Wednesday, May 17 at 7:30pm.
Argentine Principal Herman Cornejo is Basilio on Friday, May 19 at 7:30pm.
French Principal Alexandre Hammoudi is Espada Saturday, May 20 at 2pm.